Welcome to Hackenthorpe Hall.

Early Years Curriculum

The nursery incorporates the Early Years Foundation stage (EYFS) framework, September 2023 to support children’s play and learning. The EYFS covers birth – five years and are divided up through the following:

A unique child – Every child is a competent learner from birth.
Positive relationships – Children learn to be strong and independent.
Enabling Environments – The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children and learning and development.
Learning and Development – Children develop in different ways and at different times and all areas of learning and development are important.

The curriculum is all the planned and unplanned activities that are organised within the nursery and are heavily based on your child's interests. Our aim is to strengthen your child’s personal, social and emotional development which underpins all the curriculum areas plus their holistic development and confidence in attending group care.

Seven Areas of Development

Planning within the EYFS covers the 7 areas of development, with most activities lending themselves to cross curricula learning, such as a scientific activity which would involve counting or sorting.

Prime Areas

  1. Personal, social and emotional development
  2. Communication and Language
  3. Physical development

Specific Areas

  1. Expressive arts and design
  2. Mathematics
  3. Literacy
  4. Understanding the world

Characteristics of Learning

The characteristics of effective learning and the prime and specific areas of learning and development are all interconnected. The ways in which the child engages with other people and their environment – playing and exploring, active learning and creating and thinking critically – underpin learning and development across all areas and support the child to remain an effective and motivated learner.